The Future of Learning a Language is Here!

Duolingo_banner“[We are] building a world with free education without language barriers.” -Duolingo

I have recently come across a new open source and free language learning site that just has me in awe and wonder to myself “Where has this been??”

Back in an earlier post found here I mentioned wanting to put Rosetta Stone out of business. I love languages. I love the challenge of syntax. I guess I am a linguist by hobby. I can read Greek, Cyrillic, Hangeul, Kana and of course the Latin alphabet. It doesn’t mean I understand what I’m reading though. I’ve been wanting to improve my language skills for so long but I don’t want to pay the extortionate prices that Rosetta Stone charges. So my goal was to teach myself how to code and get a website online to offer free language learning and tell Rosetta Stone to suck it. Well, it looks like Duolingo has beat me to it and I’m impressed. The website is amazing and as you learn, you progress through different levels, score points, compete against the clock and even translate documents which people can upload to get translated. Currently, only French, German, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish are available and learning English is available from those languages apart from German, which is being worked on as we speak.

So how can Duolingo be free? Well, according to their website, they say “Somebody who needs a webpage translated uploads it to Duolingo. That document then gets presented to Duolingo students who can translate it in order to practice the language they are learning. When the document is fully translated, Duolingo returns it to the original content owner who, depending on the type of document they uploaded, pays for the translation.”

What can be better than learning a language for free and helping to translate a document at the same time?

Massive kudos to Duolingo!! Thank you! Merci! Danke! Grazie! Obrigado! ¡Gracias!

If you’d like to follow me on Duolingo, I am solidwolfg there.

New-Xbox-360-Achievement-Rules-Explained-2

For more on other free courses, have a look at the links below:

Duolingo unnamed2-631x307
Khan Academy Khan Academy logo copy_original
Codecademy codecademy-logo-black
Coursera coursera_logo_RGB
EdX EDX_logo


.

.

.

.

.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “The Future of Learning a Language is Here!”

  1. Parménides GV says :

    is Duolingo Open Source?

    • HuskyCityRBE says :

      It appears to be. There is something called the “Incubator” (http://incubator.duolingo.com) where you can contribute to helping the site with languages and translations. Also, when using the site, you can make suggestions or report faulty translations. The site is completely free to use and is paid for by external people needing documents or websites translated. Just recently, Duolingo students translated an entire document for CNN.

Leave a Reply

